Review – The Bravados (1958)

This is my first movie review for a while. As some of you may know, almost all of my reviews for new releases can be found on Flickering Myth but I’ve decided to continue reviewing older movies that I’m discovering on here. I won’t review every movie I watch, just ones that have struck me in a particular way. Having said that, I will continue to post the odd review of a new release (expect one for Thor: The Dark World soon). 

The Bravados stars Gregory Peck as Jim Douglas, who plays a grizzled man hunting four men who he believes raped and murdered his wife. He’s tracked them for six months, eventually catching up with them in a small town where they’re awaiting a hanging. The townspeople don’t take too kindly to Douglas’ arrival, his gruff and surly manner seem suspicious to them. However, due to a series of unfortunate events the criminals escape, and Douglas leads a posse to hunt them down as he vows to do the duty that the law couldn’t fulfill.

I love a good revenge thriller, but this had an added layer of depth. As the story unfolds, doubt emerges as to whether these men were the ones who actually committed the crime that Douglas has accused them of. It’s enthralling to see Peck show the journey of this man, a man of utter conviction whose icy demeanour and single-mindedness crumble as he’s forced to question whether he’s done the right thing. 

The Bravados is an engaging and thought-provoking film made all the more captivating by Peck’s strong and compelling performance. At first I was expecting a straightforward revenge thriller but I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of the film. It’s one I would highly recommend, even if you’re not a fan of westerns. 

 

Leave a Reply

