30 Day Challenge – Day 2

The day 2 topic is ‘a book that you’ve read more than three times’. There aren’t many of these books because typically I don’t re-read. I’m always looking for new books to explore and I have a huge amount on my to-read list, and re-reading sometimes gets in the way of that. I also have a pretty good memory for these things, so I prefer to leave a few years at least in between re-reads so when I come back to them I can still be a little bit surprised. There are a few exceptions, however. 

When I was younger I used to love Enid Blyton and I read and re-read The Secret Seven, The Famous Five, The Mystery Of…, The Faraway Tree countless times. I haven’t read them since I was younger though, so I don’t know how well they’d hold up nowadays. I do remember enjoying them immensely, even though I knew how the mysteries turned out. 

Another series I have read more than once are The Chronicles of Narnia. Not much needs to be said about them, I’ve always enjoyed them and I liked the recent movies that came out. I liked all the books although The Silver Chair  and The Last Battle were a bit iffy. The Voyage of the Dawntreader is my favourite, just in case you were wondering. 

But the book I’ve read the most, or at least I’ve gotten the most out of, is The Odyssey. I studied it at college and read it about four times that year, and I never got tired of it. I think studying it helped my appreciate it more because we explored the text and I was shown things that otherwise I may not have picked up on. Later on, in my third year at uni, I did a module studying how literature changed from epic to romance, so I studied The Odyssey again. Thanks to my foundation of knowledge I had a good couple of essays and some of the exam questions were about it and it saved me. I would have done very badly if it hadn’t been for this book. I still re-read it occasionally, although I haven’t been able to fit it in this year. I love everything about it and it never gets old.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge – Day 2

  1. I love re-reading books. I haven’t done it lately because I have a lot of books to get through, but every now and then I like to re-read a book. I love the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books and especially like reading them when the weather gets cold. They take place in Botswana and the hot setting warms me up. There are so many more, but I won’t list them. :)

  2. I’ve re-read (and don’t laugh) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare and Prince of Wolves by Quinn Loftis more times than I can count. I love a paranormal aspect to anything and it never seems to get old. Plus, both books have great humor and I love to laugh ;)

Leave a Reply

