30 Day Book Challenge – Day 16

Of course, following on from yesterday’s entry of best male character today is my favourite female character! Lots could be written, and I’m sure lots have been, about the role of women in literature. I’m not going to go into that whole area I’m just going to jump right in and talk about my favourite female character. It’s Arya Stark, from A Song of Ice and Fire.

Although the saga is very deep and complex and there are so so many great characters Arya stands out for me. I just love reading her story. I’ve always found female characters more interesting when they’re not a damsel in distress and I’m enjoying seeing how Arya’s story develops. I’m not going to go into any spoiler territories for the books, suffice to say that a lot of interesting things happen to her. I like how she’s being developed though, in that she’s holding onto this hatred for people that she’ll likely never see again, and it’s kind of a twisted origin story because we could actually see her become a villain. Often in literature villains are people who hold onto hatred and become bitter reflections of what they once were, and this consumes them. We could actually be seeing that journey in Arya, which is fascinating. 

On the other hand she could just become like Hit Girl and kick everyone’s ass, which would also be amazing to read/see. Obviously there’s a lot of tragedy and angst with the character and those are two things that draw me in, and interspersed with all the cool stuff are moments of vulnerability that are heartbreaking. She was never one to abide by conventions of what a girl should be, and now she’s growing up having her whole worldview shaken, and it’s interesting to see how she adapts and what choices she makes. 

While A Song of Ice and Fire is an amazing saga and there’s so much going on I think even if it was just about Arya I’d still think it was amazing. She just has that x factor as a character that makes her stand out from the rest and I can’t wait to see what happens to her in the next book. 

Leave a Reply

