30 Day Book Challenge – Day 17

Day 17 has crept up quickly! Only thirteen more now and I’ll be starting my 30 Day Movie challenge, in which I’ll be answering the same questions as these but for movies instead of books! 

Today it is my favourite quote from my favourite book. This is very hard because I don’t have a lot of quote memorized so I have to do a little research. This also kinda gives away the final topic, which is my favourite book of all time. I suppose it’s good that it’s been narrowed down to my favourite book thought, otherwise there would have been far too many to choose from. And if it was just my favourite quote in general then, ‘with great power comes great responsibility,’ probably would have won out. 

However, there is also this quote from Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham:

There was no meaning in life, and man by living served no end. It was immaterial whether he was born or not born, whether he lived or ceased to live. Life was insignificant and death without consequence. Philip exulted, as he had exulted in his boyhood when the weight of a belief in God was lifted from his shoulders: it seemed to him that the last burden of responsibility was taken from him; and for the first time he was utterly free. His insignificance was turned to power, and he felt himself suddenly equal with the cruel fate which had seemed to persecute him; for, if life was meaningless, the world was robbed of its cruelty.

There are innumerable quotes from various philosophers I could have selected as well, and more quotes from comic books, like ones that sum up Superman’s idealism, for example. 

My favourite book is The Odyssey so that is where I am drawing from. There are plenty that I could choose but it’s been a while since I’ve read it and I’m not going to trawl through the whole thing. The one that I first thought of is the exchange between Odysseus and Achilles were Odysseus claims that Achilles is the most fortunate man that ever was and ever will be since he was celebrated on Earth and now he has greater power among the dead, to which Achilles replies: 

“”And do not you make light of death, illustrious Odysseus”, he replied, “I would rather work the soil as a serf on hire to some landless impoverished peasant than be King of all these lifeless dead.

And this is partly the reason why I hate The Song of Achilles. This shows how only life on Earth counts, and even if you perform great deeds that win immortal glory it doesn’t matter after you die. So much of life is about leaving a legacy behind you, and although the religions have changed, a lot of our behaviour is borne out of a belief that we will be rewarded in the afterlife. I know the concepts of Heaven are different to those of the Underworld, but I still think that we should do what makes us happy in life not because it will pay off later, but because it will serve us well now. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

