30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 6

There are many movies that make me sad. I like movies that make me sad because I love being surrounded in a melancholic mist. I’m attracted to films with a lot of angst and I actually prefer them over films that are gleefully happy, although those certainly serve their purpose too. However, many sad films still have a happy ending so even though you may be sad while watching the film you’ll end up coming out feeling relieved and happy. There are other films that make me sad because they could have been a lot better than they actually were…but I don’t think that’s in the spirit of the question. So I’m going to try and pick a film that is relentless in its misery, that gives no respite from despair. I’m also going to try to pick one that I own on dvd, because I’m interpreting this questions as, ‘If you want to feel sad, which film would you pull of the shelf and watch.’ 

I think I’m going to choose Million Dollar Baby, starring Clint Eastwood, Hilary Swank and Morgan Freeman. It’s kind of the anti-Rocky in a way and the ending is one of the most gut-punching ones I’ve ever seen because there is no glimmer of hope at the end of it. Hilary Swank is so bright and likeable that even though the events of the film can’t crush her spirits they can crush ours and it’s just a relentlessly grim film, but it’s brilliant at carrying through what it set out to do.

Leave a Reply

