30 Day Movie Challenge – Day 17 – Favourite Quote from my Favourite Movie

I kind of hate this one because it gives away the last day of the challenge but oh well. So my favourite movie of all time is Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan and there are a number of quotes that I like but the best one is right at the end at (spoilers) Spock’s funeral, where James T. Kirk is giving the eulogy. 

“…Of all the souls I have encountered his was the most…human.” 

Now William Shatner gets a lot of stick from a lot of people and I agree that a fair amount of the time he can be quite an over-the-top actor and almost verges into self-parody, but I think it’s important to remember that there were some moments of real talent displayed as Kirk, mostly in the show it has to be said but they were sprinkled throughout the movies as well. This quote in particular isn’t my favourite because of the words used but because of the way Shatner delivers it, it’s just the way his throat catches and you realize how much Spock’s death means makes the whole scene and brings the emotional walls crashing down. If Spock were watching even he would be moved. It’s the perfect way to capture the tragedy of the moment. Sometimes when characters are killed off it lacks the proper punch, and I think it does take a lot of skill to perfect the fine balance between lingering on the emotion with drawing it out, and this brings a tear to my eye every time I watch it. 

Leave a Reply

